ACF Trustee Board

ACF is governed by its Trustee Board, all of whom are drawn from, and elected by, the ACF membership.

Janet Morrison - Chair

Janet is Chief Executive of the Black Stork Charity promoting excellence in rehabilitation. Previously she was the Chief Executive of Independent Age, a national older people’s organisation and a founder and Chair of the Campaign to End Loneliness. Previous roles included Deputy CEO of NESTA (the National Endowment for Science, Technology & the Arts), Senior Policy Advisor at the BBC and Director of Policy & Research at NCVO. She was Chair of the Baring Foundation until June 2020. 


David Renton - Treasurer

David joined Guy’s and St Thomas’ Charity in 2011 as Director of Finance and Investment. He looks after the £800m endowment which is invested in a globally diversified multi asset class financial portfolio, a portfolio of London properties and a growing portfolio of health impact funds. He is chair of the Large Charities Special Interest Group at CFG and a director of Cydar.


Nick Acland

Nick Acland has been the Director of the Henry Smith Charity since 2012 having previously served for five years as a Trustee of the Charity. Prior to this, his career was in the manufacturing sector working in the specialist paper industry and most recently running his own business supplying the events and leisure industries.


Sufina Ahmad

Sufina is Director of the John Ellerman Foundation, a grant-maker in the arts, environment and social action. She is currently completing an Executive MBA course at Warwick Business School. Before joining the Foundation, Sufina worked in corporate strategy and performance at the City of London Corporation. She has previously worked for the National Lottery Community Fund and City Bridge Trust, in strategy, policy and stakeholder relations roles. Sufina has also held service delivery and development roles working in charities supporting adults with learning disabilities and older people mainly. 

Sufina holds trusteeships with Just for Kids Law, We Belong and The Charterhouse. She previously volunteered with the Chartered Institute of Fundraising, as Chair of their Expert Panel on Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, and is now an honorary Fellow of the Institute.


Andrew Barnett

Andrew Barnett is Director of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation UK branch. He was a founding director of the Social Innovation Exchange (SIX) and played a major role in establishing the Making Every Adult Matter (MEAM) coalition and the Campaign to End Loneliness. He is chair of trustees of the Church Urban Fund and senior independent member at Healthwatch England.


Sarah Benioff

Sarah joined the Cripplegate Foundation and Islington Giving as Director in September 2019.  Cripplegate Foundation is a 500 year-old local grant making trust in Islington, and Islington Giving is a coalition of local, regional and national funders, residents, businesses and voluntary organisations focused on poverty and inequality in the Borough. 

Prior to this, Sarah worked for the National Lottery Community Fund from 2016 to 2019, as England Director and previously as Deputy Director for Strategic Programmes. Sarah was also a Director in the Civil Service for over ten years, holding senior positions with the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government (MHCLG), Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS), and the Office for Civil Society (OCS) in the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS). Sarah was also formerly the Chief Executive of the Community Development Foundation, a non-departmental public body and charity.


Jessica Brown

Jessica Brown has over 17 years’ experience working with the charitable sector, trusts and foundations in the UK and US. Her recent experience is in leadership positions across the charitable, social enterprise and philanthropy sectors. She is currently the Grants Director at the Trusthouse Charitable Foundation, and was previously a Fund Manager at the Barrow Cadbury Trust.



Aanchal Clare

Aanchal is a Trustee at The Peter Minet Trust, a place-based funder supporting local groups in Lambeth and Southwark. She is a Trusts Fundraiser and has worked at a variety of both local and national charities. Aanchal is also an organiser for the Grant Givers Movement, a movement pushing for better grant making practices across the foundation sector.


Síofra Healy

Síofra has over 30 years experience in the voluntary sector. She is Director of Philanthropy at the Community Foundation Northern Ireland since 2017 where she leads on philanthropy services, the promotion and development of philanthropy, funding strategy and communications. She previously worked with a number of local and national charities including The Simon Community, The Princes Trust and Northern Ireland Hospice. 

A mum of four Síofra is also a board member of Bryson Care, a large social enterprise in NI and she enjoys walking and catching up with friends in her spare time. 


Michelle Molyneux

Michelle manages The Worshipful Company of Grocers’ Charity and is the Chair Trustee of an arts and disability charity. She studied art history, philosophy, economics and politics. Over the past 15 years, she has worked at a senior level at creative and cultural organisations supporting socially and politically engaged art practices. 


Klara Skrivankova

Klara Skrivankova joined Trust for London in March 2019. She has over 18 years of experience of working on human rights and responsible business within the Third Sector. Klara is a co-founder of the UK Trafficking Law and Policy Forum, and is actively involved with international anti-trafficking and business and human rights initiatives.


Anthony Tomei CBE

Anthony was director of the Nuffield Foundation from 1995 to 2012. He is a trustee of the Bell Foundation and the Bonnart Trust. He is also Director of the Salters’ Institute, a trustee of the Pensions Policy Institute, a governor of City and Islington College, and a Visiting Professor at King’s College, London. He was awarded the CBE for services to education.


Edward Walden

Edward joined Power to Change in February 2018 as the Digital Transformation Officer and took up the additional role of Diversity and Inclusion Coordinator in August. Edward has worked in a variety of roles in the third sector since graduating from the University of Kent with an LLB in Law, including voluntary and professional advocate, D&I trainer/consultant, employment advisor for disabled people, data co-ordinator and virtual project manager in both the North and South of England.

We support UK foundations and grant-making charities